Zero to Hero – When ‘Ex’ becomes ‘Next’

Standard

*flops on couch, sips chilled white wine*

Don’t you just love Saturdays? Lying on my couch with sunlight streaming in, a wineglass in hand and CSI reruns on TV. *bliss*

So, I was talking to a friend of mine recently and her dilemma inspired this blogpost. Help me out guys, will you? She (we) need advice…

Let me give you background. She had been with this guy for just about a year. It hadn’t been love at first sight, but they grew to be crazy about each other, as in talking kids, moving in, long-term, meeting family etc etc.

Fast-forward some months down the road and their relationship hit a rough patch, distance issues. A myriad of little spats became molehills, became mountains, and they split up. For the record it didn’t involve cheating, violence, emotional abuse or any other identifiable issues. Just ‘one of those things’.

Almost a year later, they’ve hooked up again. Spark is still there obviously, and homegirl is seriously considering giving it another go. This is where I *adjusts Love Doctor nametag* come in.

On a personal note, I’m not inclined to believe in finding true love with an ex. However, I remember how happy my friend was with this guy, and I can tell she has changed since (for better, that is). Obviously I can’t vouch for the guy (coz we aint close like that) but I think he’s a little more level-headed now. However, do I think this is enough to rekindle the relationship? Jury is still out on that one.

If you were me, what advice would you give my friend?

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

5 responses »

  1. I’d say ‘take a chance’. Sometimes the right people don’t become that for each other until a better time or after acquiring certain experiences. I would just say she should recall what went wrong and work at it. Better to try and fail than to not have tried at all

  2. Several times I’ve given an X another chance,i regretted ever even giving it a thought.However,if violence and cheating had no role to play in the latter split,Then she might wonna give it another shot.Also,ask her “what is it you want”?

    • Awww, sorry about that love! I guess not every situation should be given a second life. Anyway, give yourself props for trying – it shows courage!

Leave a Reply

