Gossip, gossip…is it always an evil thing?

Standard

This is probably going to be half-baked of sorts, but I’m typing on my phone and I hate small screens!

Before I start, I should apologise for being away for so long. Life does that to you sometimes – I’ve been on such an emotional rollercoaster recently, it’s become difficult to put my emotions in words.

So I’m sitting here getting my hair done at home (#LikeABoss#) and watching the show ‘Moments With Month’ with Mo Abudu. The issue? Loyalty amongst friends, in the face of gossip. I’m going to take gossip here to be saying something unflattering about someone else, in their absence.

It got me thinking – do I want my friends to inform me about gossip which is circulating about me? There are probably diverse schools of thought on this – some people don’t want to know anything, some people want to know everything, and some people want you the friend to pick and choose what to tell them.

Me? I wanna know everything that is being said. I have a robust fear of the unknown. Plus, I feel that we give a lot of modern-day or older bullies power over us, in the name of ‘God will pay’, ‘let me be the bigger person’, and all that. However, statistics have shown that once confronted, a bully is most likely to back down and leave you alone!

So I say, stop cowering in a corner and letting people spread lies about you. Stand up, clear your name and hold your head high! When we die, all we have left is our reputation. Don’t let someone kill yours before you even figure out what you want it to be!

Update: I wrote this about 2 weeks ago then couldn’t find the saved draft on my phone…how annoying! Have a lovely weekend, peeps!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

10 responses »

  1. Tell me about small screens! I can barely post these days.as for gossip,I’ve adapted a policy that if my life is a topic in yours then you must be pretty idle and me awesome.

  2. Moths ago,we shared the same views on this Gossip thing.Right now,i think;If it’s their best means of sharing facts, views and slander,then fine.Lets all just be happy.I no get power-No lie.

  3. Thank you for the mail.
    I like your blog and this post.
    Just like 9jamum, I would be visiting you since you would be on my list of my fav blogs 😀
    I don’t like to be cowered into a corner also 😀

  4. I have done all coz I got tired of this line
    “Plus, I feel that we give a lot of modern-day or older bullies power over us, in the name of ‘God will pay’, ‘let me be the bigger person’, and all that. However, statistics have shown that once confronted, a bully is most likely to back down and leave you alone!”
    I have reported, addressed the issue, yet the bullies don’t want to back down.
    Now my rest is The Lord is my Shepard… Pray for your enemies. Only His Grace Helps.

    • Hi J, so sorry to hear you have been bullied. Maybe it is time to remove yourself from the bully’s sphere of influence. some people are just rotten to the core…don’t let them dull the happiness inside of you!

Leave a Reply

